Photo Recap

Yesterday, BHE and I celebrated 8 wonderful years of marriage.

Cupcakes were made in celebration, in addition to a wonderful meal of steak and roasted asparagus and red potatoes.

Anniversary Cupcakes

It’s OK to drool. I won’t tell anyone.

The vanilla cupcake is an OLD family recipe that, I’m sorry, I won’t share. The frosting is my mom’s chocolate frosting recipe.

My icing skills aren’t the best (see my buddy at Family Bites for that), but I think I do simplicity well. My tip for simple icing? Take a spoon, put a dollop in the middle of your cupcake, and carefully spread with the dull side of a butter knife. It’s not fancy, nor involved exceptional skill, but your cupcakes will look nice and neat.

In other news, my mom has a renewed vigor for sewing, and has taken up bag-making. Bow down to her sewing prowess:

The bag fits a ton – two cross stitch projects – one a decoy, the other I’m doing on the sly as a gift – and my knitting project:

WIP: My First Scarf

I got this Drop Stitch Scarf pattern off ravelry, and I’m really enjoying it.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shannon on July 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I think the cupcakes look awesome!! And I love the cupcakes liners….so cute!!!

    Reply

  2. Congratulations! I love the mama made bag. Can they be purchased anywhere?

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on July 14, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Well, the pattern is a McCall’s pattern that I think can be purchased at Hobby Lobby and/or Joann. She is not selling the bags, though I think she could – my bag’s fabulous (and so is hers – she made one for herself too)!

      Reply

  3. […] WIP: My First Scarf Image by TNEmily Blogged: awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/photo-recap/ […]

    Reply

Leave a comment