Don’t want to end up a cartoon in a cartoon graveyard…

I was browsing through my mp3 selection on my way home from work today and strolled across this gem from 1986:

To me, the song and the video are always linked. I was about 8 when this came out, and we didn’t have MTV at that time…but my super-cool cousin (who was in junior high at the time) did. Anyway, at the time I obviously knew who Chevy Chase was – Three Amigos was out around the time… I didn’t know what Paul Simon looked like, and at my young age I did not understand lip-synching at all – so for a few years I really thought “that Paul Simon guy looks just like Chevy Chase!”

I also at that time thought the lyrics to Aerosmith’s “Dude Looks Like a Lady” were “Do the Nekkid Lady” – and get your minds out of the gutter – I thought the “Nekkid Lady” was a dance. You know, like “The Twist” or later, “The Achy-Breaky”.

Ah, the naivete of my Alabama childhood….

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mandy on February 17, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I loved this video as a kid! And, like you, I was totally confused by the appearance of Chevy Chase as well (Funny Farm!). But, really, I was 5-6 then, so I guess it’s understandable. And we had MTV, of which I watched way, way too much. I remember so many songs and videos from the mid-eighties and I was barely in elementary school! Only now I realize how weird that actually is.

    Love your interpretation of song titles…too funny…

    Reply

  2. Haha! I wasn’t allowed to watch MTV as a kid, but in college my film professor showed us this (he believed that 80’s music videos were a time of great innovation in film). I remember being like, “what?!?” And it was only a few years later that I realized that all the music on that album is heavily influenced by African beats. Love it! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

