Easy Knitting

Size 50 needles are pretty awesome – you can knit things so quickly! They do take some getting used to:

Skinny "Go Vols!" Scarf

I knitted this Vol-inspired “Half-Hour Skinny Suede Scarf” (in about an hour) for my mother-in-law. I think she really liked it. I used Peaches N’ Cream cotton in orange and white instead of the suede. I’d like to try the suede at a later date, but they only had a rust color, and I wanted something Vol for my mother-in-law, who is a Vol superfan.

I also knitted this dishcloth:

Waffle Stitch Dishcloth

You can find the pattern here. It was a really easy knit, and a great way to use up my not-quite half skein of Lily Sugar N’ Cream twists. I knit only 10 pattern rows, 3 shy of the 13 that the pattern requires, but I still like my results.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on August 18, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    hhhmmmm…… we know how i feel about the vols since i’m a bulldawg fan 😉 but it is quite nice to see all the wonderful things you are knitting…… have you found a good video online or a good online tute that shows how to fix mistakes when you knit? if i knew how to fix my mistakes i think i might be more likely to consider picking up knitting needles again….

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on August 18, 2010 at 4:21 pm

      There are several good videos on youtube (KnitPicks has a pretty extensive youtube selection), though I haven’t found one specifically about fixing mistakes – I just try REALLY hard not to make them! I’m going to have to learn that skill at some point though.

      And…not that I’d advocate it – you could totally make that scarf in red and black. But the orange and white is so much prettier 😉

      Reply

  2. Posted by bookwormbethie on August 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    ha ha, NOT! i actually have a very silly red and black scarf that i got a couple of christmas’s ago, i really should wear it more often, but it’s fleece i think so it’s not really something to wear in the fall…..

    yes, i’ve heard with kniting, that “tinking” (kniting spelled backwards) is what you do to fix your mistake. like knitting in reverse or something????

    Reply

  3. Posted by bookwormbethie on August 19, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    P.S. I just saw some overwhelming “after” pics of a flood in TN on yahoo. I hope you and your family and friends are all safe.

    Reply

  4. […] Waffle Stitch Dishcloth Image by TNEmily Details, with link to pattern, here: awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/08/18/809/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

