WIPs

I’m procrastinating this:

WIP: Dolphin for my Bear

This is for the Bear (it will be a pillow), and I thought I was done BUT when I showed it to him he told me that, while it looked great and all, he wants it filled in. So I’ve been procrastinating because I just don’t want to do the fill stitches! I finally started them yesterday – they’re a variant on long and short stitch, a la Follow the White Bunny‘s work.

I did finish this simple garter stitch scarf:

Garter Stitch Scarf

Super simple to do; just cast on 18 and work in knit stitch until you’re almost out of yarn, then bind off. I was a bit disappointed – I thought this would be longer. This yarn is Berroco Love It! Colors, which appears to be a discontinued yarn. I wish I had planned its use better than just doing this scarf – I might have been able to stretch my yarn with some yarnovers in there. Oh well, live and learn.

My big WIP:

WIP: Heartfelt Shawl

I’ve read a lot of griping on the ‘nets about Lion Brand Homespun yarn. But you know what? I got this for under $3 per skein (clearance at Joann), and it knits up really soft. There is a learning curve with the yarn – easy to get your needle stuck – but after I got used to it, I really don’t mind working with it. I’m using this pattern and hope to have a nice shawl for myself when the weather turns cold.

So, what are you working on?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on August 9, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    I’m not working on anything at the moment, but as soon as my sewing machine comes back from the repair shop, I will be oh so happy, and will immeadiately start to make capri pants for my MIL. all your stitchy projects look really great…. seeing all this knitting and crochet stuff is starting to make me want to give it another try…. i just saw a cool project on flickr from the ‘kooky crochet’ book and it’s quite tempting….. mmmmm, yummy yarns……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

