Easier Than You’d Think

I made egg rolls last week, and they’re much easier to make than you might think. I’d always assumed that it was quite complicated, but the recipe I used was easy and delicious!

Hot and Sour Soup with Egg Roll

The egg roll recipe came from Cooking Light, and can be found here. I made some small changes due to the lack of bean sprouts at my local grocery store. In place of the bean sprouts, I substituted a mixture of alfafa sprouts and Savoy cabbage. I really liked that combination, and will likely use cabbage in my egg rolls going forward.

To pair with the egg rolls, I made a hot and sour soup that I think turned out well.

Hot and Sour Soup

3 cups chicken broth
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 1/2 cups cabbage, like Savoy
juice of one/two lemons
1 tsp. black pepper
1 cup medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
8 oz. firm tofu, drained and cubed
1 large egg white
sweet chili sauce
chopped green onion
chopped cilantro

Combine first five ingredients into pot; bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes.

Add pepper, shrimp*, and tofu; bring to boil. Simmer 5 minutes or until shrimp almost done.

Slowly drizzle egg white into pot, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Stir in chili sauce, green onion, and cilantro. Serve.

*If using raw shrimp. If shrimp is already cooked, add at the end to warm.

Leave a Reply

