Finished and Almost-Finished Projects

Finished:

My First Knitted Piece!

My first knitted piece! You can find the pattern for this simple washcloth here.

And almost-finished:

Hand Embroidered Snake

The Monkey loves snakes, so this will be turned into a pillow…however, first I have to stitch up a dolphin for the Bear, so they each have a pillow, even stevens.

HISS

I really like how he turned out. The pattern came from this coloring book.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on June 29, 2010 at 9:45 am

    your knitted wash cloth is nice! that varigated yarn you used is so fun! i can knit a bit, but i don’t know how to fixie my mistakes so knitting is more stressful rather than relaxing for me…… i’ve always thought about trying to give crochet a try but i definitely don’t need to start a yarn stash

    Reply

  2. Posted by tnemily on June 30, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Bethie – I don’t know how to fix my mistakes either. I need to learn how. I took a class to learn knitting (no family to learn that skill from) and that’s gotten me hooked. Right now I just try to knit VERY CAREFULLY so I don’t have any errors to fix – though I did find one error in my washcloth. Still pretty good for a first project, if I do say so myself.

    Reply

  3. Posted by bookwormbethie on July 1, 2010 at 10:01 am

    i did take a knitting class ages ago on how to fixie your mistakes but the presentation was odd and it was hard to see what the teaching was doing😦 i had dreams of knitting and dozing off or being able to watch tv/chat while knitting, but alas it was never meant to be. my mom can knit without even paying attention to what she is doing, that’s what i was hoping to be able to do. oh well, at least i can sew and embroider🙂

    and yes your washcloth is amazing for a first project. i love that yarn you picked out!

    Reply

  4. Posted by tnemily on July 1, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Bethie, we have a needlework store in my small town, and they teach knitting, crochet, and some forms of embroidery (hardanger, etc…). They prefer small classes – no more than 2 or 3 – and it’s pretty inexpensive – so since it was my mom and me, we had a lot of one-on-one time with the teacher. I really needed to have that to get anywhere with knitting. She said to call or come back anytime if we need more help. Obviously, I’m going to try to support her store more and buy what I can there vs. a big hobby store, so it works well for her too! If you have such a store nearby, it’s a great resource.

    Reply

  5. Posted by bookwormbethie on July 8, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    indeed my class was at an independent yarn shop. the 1-time class was probably between $40 – $60, i don’t recall, but i remember being very very disappointed when it was over since i didn’t get anything out of the class and it was too hard to “see” what the teacher was doing to fixie her mistakes. there were maybe 6, not more than 8 of us in that class. we just sat around a table and knitted and then had to huddle behind the “teacher” to see what she was doing. ah well, i suppose you can tell i’m still a bit disappointed about how that turned out. the teacher could tell i was frustrated and told me i could come back to see her 1-on-1 for no charge but i didn’t bother and ended up ending my brief fling with knitting and since then, haven’t returned to the store since there was no need to. ah well, maybe maybe maybe i’ll try my hand at crochet sometime, i’d like to make a granny square blanket and other cute little things, but there is no overwhelming rush to do so, and plus that means i’d have to start buying all kinds of yummy yarns😉

    Reply

  6. […] Hand Embroidered Snake Image by TNEmily Blogged: awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/finished-and-almost-f… […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

