Bit by the Knitting Bug

For Mother’s Day, I gave my mom (and me) a knitting class. We learned to knit and purl, cast on, bind off, and all that good stuff. And now we’re hooked.

Above is my first project. It’s a really simple washcloth, and you can find the pattern here. I had some leftover yarn (100% cotton Peaches & Creme, from…eek….Walmart) from when I TRIED to teach myself to crochet and just used that. I really like working with the cotton.

As a newbie knitter, I’ve been scouring the internet looking for some great resources.

Knitting @ About.com – Loads of free patterns, and a section for beginners.

Knitting @ Craftgossip – I heart Craftgossip. Just a great site to go to that always has links to wonderful blogs and ideas.

The Daily Knitter – Loads of free knitting patterns, though I wish it would mention the skill level needed before clicking the link.

Cyberseams’ Youtube Channel and website is a wonderful resource. I was messing up with my cast on the other day, and her video set me right back on track. I’m probably going to work on this scarf after I finish my washcloth.

Knitting Tips By Judy’s Youtube Channel is also a good one. I discovered how to add color with one of her videos. It’s really easy!

Of course, the yarn companies have free patterns too. Though I have yet to use their yarn, I like that Lion Brand clearly indicates the skill level in their listing, and has loads of cute patterns. And the major hobby stores have free patterns – Joann’s database of patterns is very easy to navigate.

Are you a knitter? Do you have any preferred resources – web or print? Let me know! I’m a newbie knitter that needs all the help she can get!

3 responses to this post.

  1. If you haven’t found it already, I suggest you become a member of Ravelry (www.ravelry.com) — there are tens of thousands of members and countless patterns (both free and paid), reviews, photos, and the best forum I’ve ever been part of.
    Carrie

    Reply

  2. One of my favorite sites for free knitting patterns is http://knittingpatterncentral.com You can find just about anything on there.

    Good luck with your new hobby!

    Reply

  3. Posted by tnemily on June 29, 2010 at 8:29 am

    Thanks ladies – I am updating my listings to reflect these resources too. I’m especially in love with Ravelry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

