My picky kid ate baked chicken, and yours can too!

Last week the Monkey said he would eat baked chicken. I took this with a grain of salt – he’s claimed he would try things before, then “change his mind” at the last minute.

But I’ve learned that in parenthood you seize opportunities like this when you can, so I came up with a very basic – but flavorful – chicken that he would be willing to eat*. And I’m sharing with you for that picky kid in your life:

I chose boneless skinless chicken thighs to bake. They’re relatively inexpensive, flavorful, and the serving sizes are just spot on.

As I preheated the oven to 350F, I placed the chicken in a simple marinade of salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil. I let it marinade as the oven preheated, so about 15 minutes. You could probably marinade longer and get some more of that flavor into the chicken, but I didn’t have time.

I then coated the bottom of a baking dish with a thin layer of olive oil, then placed my chicken on top. I wanted to roast an orange bell pepper to place on our salad – I decided to just place it on top of my chicken in in the baking dish, and sprinkled on a little extra salt and pepper. Shoved it in the oven to bake for an hour.

In that hour I made the mashed potatoes – a good go-to side for a picky kid. And ya’ll, those mashed potatoes were awesome! You can’t go wrong with butter and sour cream. It was all well until my picky kid spotted a speck of black pepper. Well, lesson learned on the black pepper, I suppose.

We dressed our salad with the orange bell pepper – which sweetened a bit and just turned out awesome – and a simple homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

A nice, simple family meal – that even a picky kid will love!

*He’s anti-sauce, and a rub would have been equally offensive to him. We’re dealing with picky here, people.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by marissaburt on June 15, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I’ll have to give this a shot. We have a picky one at our house, but maybe, maybe he’ll eat chicken this time? Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shannon on June 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    That whole plate looks outstanding! And your mashed potatoes look so wonderful. My mouth is totally watering!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sunny on June 21, 2010 at 3:26 am

    Wow, how old is your picky kid? My ‘picky kid’ is 23, and still won’t touch a bite of food that has a speck of color (pepper, herb flake) on it. He does eat boneless, skinless chicken breasts (preferably grilled) and pork chops (the kind with the bone), mashed potatoes (as long as they’re exactly like every other time I’ve fixed them) ….. and so on. I fear for his health when he finally moves away from home. He simply does not eat what he doesn’t like. Good luck with your picky one. I tried forcing the issue once. Got ugly (he was 5) and since then I just give in.

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on June 21, 2010 at 8:28 am

      My picky kid is 6. Luckily he eats a lot of fruit. He’s slowly but surely expanding what he’s willing to eat, so I’m hoping he won’t stay quite so picky.

      I try not to force the issue, but instead give him the option to “try” things. I’ve noticed an improvement since he started school last fall – I think seeing what other kids eat helped.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

