Foodie Fails

Last week was a bit rough (due to Monkey’s tummy bug) and my cooking suffered. I don’t have a lot of food fails, but last week, well….

I started off the week wanting to make an onion pie (my father-in-law brought some BIG vidalia onions and I wanted to use them). I thought I had everything but discovered – a bit late – that I had no eggs. Nothing to bind the pie together.

It actually tasted good but it definitely wasn’t very pie-like. I will try this again sometime – when I have eggs.

Later in the week I tried out this recipe for Latin Baked Chicken from Cooking Light. It was awesome. A definite keeper of a recipe. It was I did with the side that caused a massive fail.

I decided to used up the remaining black-eyed peas in my pantry (I use dry beans unless I just don’t have time). I decided – ’cause I love my greens – that turnip greens would be good with them, and so threw them in the pot with the black-eyed peas about an hour into cooking.

It all went to heck when I threw the chipotle in.

I had half the can of chipotle left from the chicken recipe. Thinking it would be similar to adding a touch of hot sauce, I threw in the rest of the chipotles into my pot.

Do you know that turnip greens really soak up flavor? And by flavor, I mean extreme heat? I consider myself pretty tough when it comes to spicy food – I throw red pepper flakes into everything – but this was beyond spicy. I pulled out the peppers that I could once I realized my error, and added a ton of water to dilute the heat, but it was too late. I ruined those greens.

I do plan to revisit the black-eyed peas and turnip greens concept again. But never again with chipotles. Never again.

So what are your foodie fails? Share in the comments!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristen on June 10, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I am sure I’ve had plenty (which I’ve apparently blocked from memory :)), but one of JM’s sticks out to me: He misread (?) the amount of baking soda in some chocolate chip cookies and put 1/4 CUP instead of 1/4 teaspoon. Oops! HAHAHA.

    Reply

  2. I once made a pizza rustica with cheese and dough, all baked together, and when I cut into it, the cheese just ran like a river on to the table. Everyone just sat and watched it flow. Your onion pie looks good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

