Funky Foods

Well, I’m feeling a little queasy today, so now’s as good a time as any to talk about funky foods.

I ate some interesting foods as a child. Now, I didn’t think they were interesting, of course, and most Americans in the 80s might not have thought much of it, but now – gag.

Anyone for some potted meat? Fried Bologna Sandwich? Vienna Sausage?

I think some of the most awful food from my childhood involved mayonnaise. Ever had Pear Salad? Who thought of placing a dollop of mayo in the middle of a pear half and topping that all with cheddar? And then having the nerve to call it a salad?

But the pièce de résistance were the peanut butter and banana sandwiches. I still eat them today – two slices of bread, peanut butter on both sides, and banana slices – but I leave out a feature from my childhood (drumroll please): the mayo. Ah yes, in my childhood we had peanut butter, mayo, and banana sandwiches. And somehow I came out mostly normal.

Did you eat any foods in your childhood that you just can’t imagine eating now? Let me know in the comments!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on May 28, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I do love a PB and banana sandwich, never ever heard of the mayo part, and I admit that sounds yucky!!!! When I was a kid I would sometimes add fluff to the sandwich.

    There are a few foods from my childhood that I adore but my husband does not like at all, perhaps because he did not grow up eating them. When I make them, more for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

