Framing in the Hoop

I finally got around to framing my floral sampler in the hoop. I love plain wood hoops for framing – they’re really inexpensive, and you can just embroider in your hoop and never really take it out! Great framing for the lazy, I guess….

I’ve seen discussion on the internet about the “right” way to frame. There are those that will tell you that it should always be under glass – there are some that will tell you that no, no, it shouldn’t…. Everyone’s got an opinion! My opinion – embroidery, like any other craft, is an artform, and I don’t think there’s any “right” or “wrong” way to do things. So if you want to frame in a hoop, frame in a hoop! I’ve used shadowboxes, standard frames, hoops, and even an art canvas…display your work like YOU think it should displayed.

OK, soapbox is tucked neatly away. Here’s how I go about framing in a hoop:

Get yourself some multi-purpose glue. Mine is Elmer’s, and actually mentions that it’s appropriate for fabric on the container. I have used Elmer’s school glue, and the glue doesn’t want to bind as well and it’s a lot more work, and we don’t want that so go with the multi-purpose.

Get your fabric in the hoop just how you want it, placed and tightened to your satisfaction. Now, get some good scissors (if you have sewing scissors, you want them) and carefully trim around – you’ll want to leave around an inch of fabric.

Now that your fabric is trimmed, it’s glue time. Very carefully place glue on the top portion of the back of your hoop (one section at a time) and – you’ll also want some kind of utensil for this, like a plastic knife – spread a light layer of glue all on the wood of that hoop. If possible, you want to keep it off your embroidered fabric (the part you’re framing). Once your section of glue is spread to your satisfaction, start pressing your fabric down. It will look like this:

Your hands might get a little sticky, but don’t worry about that. Just keep “pressing on” with your fabric, going all around the circle until it’s neat and adhered to that hoop. Here’s what it should look like:

Framing in the Hoop

I feel so exposed – you’ve seen the back of my embroidery!

Anyway, that’s all there is to it. And because there’s always more than one way to do things – go visit Bookworm Bethie. She also just posted about framing in the hoop, but does hers differently. The results look good, so go check it out.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Good for you for exposing yourself! haha .. I just did my first ‘framed’ embroidery for my moms mother’s day gift. I did it this exact same way except I used Fabric Tac – I think that’s the correct name of it – anyways, it worked well and is holding up great.

    Reply

  2. I have no problem with how anyone frames her work. There is, however, a question of longevity (not really the right word, but it’s late). If I understand correctly, both the wooden hoop and using glue have the potential, if not certainty, of causing your work to deteriorate faster. That said, I have to say I actually like the look of things framed in the hoop. Plastic and a different method of securing it on the back (lacing?) may alleviate this problem, but obviously doesn’t look like wood, which is poart of the appeal of the hoop. Oh, well…

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on June 3, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      I get you, and should have mentioned in the post that there are concerns about longevity and preservation. I don’t know the “proper” way to do some things, as I’m mostly self-taught on embroidery. Perhaps some research as well as a follow-up post is in order.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

