39 Squares: 1.5 to Go

I’ve been stitchin’, but I just haven’t been postin’. The last two (yes, two) weeks were Spring Break for the Monkey, so routine was thrown off.

So let’s get to it:

39 Squares: Strawberry

This made the Bear so happy. He loves red, and loves strawberries.

39 Squares: Lazy Daisy and a Branch Swing

The lazy daisy is, well, because I was running out of ideas. But it’s cute, right?
The branch swing is something I’ve had in mind for a while. I really like it on the gingham. The Bear really loves to swing (we hear “Swing me very higher!” a lot), and with spring’s arrival we’ve been enjoying more time outside and, for the Bear, more time on the swingset. This square really made me smile.

39 Squares: Bluebird and Geraniums

The bluebird was stitched at the request of the Monkey, whose favorite color is blue.
The geranium is an honor of my grandmother. Every Mother’s Day, my dad got my Meemaw a red geranium, so every time I see a red geranium, I think of her. I’m really happy with my french knots, but I don’t honestly like how the leaves turned out.

WIP: Next to Last Square

And this is my WIP (hence 1.5 squares to go). I started this rather late on Sunday and hope to finish it today. All those french knots! They’re going to be the end of me!
Originally this square was going to be different, but I didn’t like what I drew. I then remembered looking at dandelions (my boys have been bringing me lots of dandelion bouquets lately), and thinking that their shape would work in straight stitches all around. So I freehanded this one. I think I did OK. But then I had to add some fill around, and now I’m on day 3 of french knots. Sigh. But I think this one is going to turn out great.

So 1.5 more to go!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on April 21, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    each of these squares is so beautiful and i love hearing the story behind each one. you should be so proud and happy when this is done. i hope you’ll frame it and hang it up so you and oyur family can admire it and see the squares and remember the stories 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

