Peanut Sauce on a Whim

Sometimes necessity is the mother of invention. I had little available in my fridge or pantry for lunch the other day. But I did have a leftover pork chop. Noting that I also had some rice vermicelli that needed to be taken down, I came up with this:

If I had some veggies at the time (the fridge was approaching bare) I would have loved to have thrown them in. I’m thinking grated carrot, spinach – the possibilities are endless.

So here’s what you need to throw together to make the sauce. You can add/decrease amounts based on what you have as well as your preferences.

1 tbsp. basil, chopped fine
1 tbsp. cilantro, chopped fine
1 tbsp. natural peanut butter
1 tsp. fish sauce
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 tbsp. sesame oil
juice of one lime (come to think of it, the zest might be nice too…)
1 tsp. dried ginger (you could also mince actual ginger)
1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar
pinch sugar (keeping it honest – I used a squirt of agave nectar)
black pepper, to taste
red pepper flakes, to taste

FYI: I cooked the noodles per package directions – in HOT water for 15 minutes (rice vermicelli cooks a little differently than pasta). I then heated the pork just a bit in a skillet/wok to warm it up, then added the noodles. I then tossed them in the sauce in the skillet. Obviously, if you’re not using leftover pork, you’ll want to stir-fry your veggies and meat before tossing in the noodles and sauce.

Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

