39 Squares: 18, 19, 20 and 21

So, I’ve used up this month’s bandwidth on flickr – oops! But I just can’t wait to post these pics, so here we go:

The tree is based on an old wood trivet that was my grandmother’s. The turtle was a good chance to try out basketweave stitch. Also, I knew it would go over very well with my boys. I think he’s cute!

If you’ve read my “About Me”, or if you know me for real, you know I am a percussionist in a community band. We had a festival on Saturday, so the music notes and clefs commemorate that event. My parents, brother and his girlfriend even showed up for this one, so it was a big day! Love the support. And stitching calmed my nerves before the show.

The bird is a crow. We have very tall trees around our house and I often see a bird perched up way on top of the trees. I am always amazed that these birds can perch so gracefully on the very tops of the trees. So that square is in honor of our avian neighbors.

Finally, yesterday was a busy day so I opted for simplicity:

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on March 30, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    i’ve been checking in and goodness all of these squares are so beautiful and exquisite!

    do you plan on framing the entire piece when you are done?

    also i hopped over the the 39 square blog but didn’t see any explanation, and perhaps i missed that post on your blog, but is each square supposed to have a theme???

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on March 30, 2010 at 2:06 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I do plan to frame – or more like mount – this in some way. Not totally decided on how yet!

      I didn’t blog in specific about 39 squares so you didn’t miss any post. The stitch-a-long was started by Amy of Inspire Co.. She was stitching 39 in honor of her 39th birthday. There’s no specifics to the SAL; no theme. I imposed a theme on mine – Spring. I think many have gone with this theme after the cold winter!

      Now I’m so hooked on little inch-sized squares of embroidery that I think I might do one per season, though I don’t know if I will do the same number each time.

      Reply

  2. Posted by bookwormbethie on March 31, 2010 at 11:01 am

    well the 39 squares for 39 years is a cool connection. your squares are all so beautiful, and what patience and care it must take to stitch those tiny squares! your 1/2 way there, look foward to seeing more squares!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

