39 Squares: Weekend’s Work (and Thursday. And Monday).

Lots of squares! Some more successful than others. Let’s review.

Thursday night I watched Project Runway and stitch up this little fishing scene:

Square 12

I think my perspective is off – fishing line is a bit short, my circles are a bit too circular and big. But I love love love my dragonflies. The dragonflies might appear again.

Friday was a busy one, so I just added an old (likely vintage – not sure of its origins but it was made in “West Germany”) cameo. I’ve had this one for a long time – it was Mom’s, and then she gave it to me when she didn’t want it anymore. But I’ve never been able to wear it – it pins on the bottom half, so never laid on my clothes like I wanted. It’s much happier here.

Squares 13 and 14

Saturdays square, right next to the cameo, is something I’ve had in mind for a long time and I think is one of my favorites right now.

Another square I’ve had in mind for a long time was created on Sunday:

Square 15

I’m mostly satisfied with it. The little koi were BHE’s idea. This square is based on a photograph I took at the Memphis Botanic Garden about two years ago.

And finally, this is what I worked up yesterday:

Square 16

Can you tell what this is? I may have over-conceptualized….it’s bubbles. I have kids, so spring brings on bubble blowing in the back yard. I used the pink in hopes of capturing the iridescence of bubbles but I’m not sure I was successful. I think it is visually appealing though.

Here’s my 16 squares so far:

16 Squares So Far

Are you stitching along with 39 Squares? I think I’m addicted to doing this. I think BHE is enjoying my obsession with inch-sized squares. He asked if I’m doing another for summer after this…and you know, after a brief break I think I just will.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angelle on March 23, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I am not a needle worker, but I love this idea. And I totally thought bubbles when I saw that last one even before I read your description. I think you hit it.

    Reply

  2. Love, love, love your squares! Your concepts are so wonderful– I especially love the fishing pond!
    Hugs,
    Jill

    Reply

  3. Beautiful squares!! I might do 50 for my 50th Birthday!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Suzitee on March 23, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Yours squares are looking just gorgeous! The fish under the bridge is divine, and I love how colourful all your squares look together. I think I may be a bit addicted to doing this too…it’s so much fun!
    Have a great day xxx

    Reply

  5. Your squares are so, so beautiful! I love, love, love the fish under the bridge – it would make a perfect piece done larger and framed for a gift! So artistic and inspiring – thank you! Hugs, Tamara

    Reply

  6. Posted by tnemily on April 7, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    This sampler is great inspiration for bigger projects. Thanks so much for the compliment, and thanks for popping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

