39 Squares: Square 4 (and a Granola Bar Update)

First off, square 4:

Square 4: Little Sprout

This is based on a photo I took two years ago (here’s the post if you’d like to see the photo). The rocks at the bottom were a happy accident – my bracelet broke. I’m happy with this one. What will today bring?

Also, I’ve been working the granola bar recipe. Last weekend I tried adding chocolate chips (minus the nuts and fruit. I know.). Well, what happens when you add chocolate chips to hot toasted oats and wheat germ and hot syrup? Yep, they melted. And they were delicious. A lot like those no-bake chocolate/oat cookies, but in bar form and, as BHE stated, better. They’d probably be awesome with dried cherries in them.

Well, I want to keep them healthier so this time I came up with this:

Omitting the sunflower seeds and nuts (my boys did not like them), I added in the approximately 1.5 oz. of chocolate chips I had remaining, and added about 4 oz. of small chopped dates. I love dates, and the great thing about them (as a mom) is that they’re virtually invisible in the granola bars. So you get fruity goodness without your son having issues with the texture, like with the dried apples. The Bear took his down at breakfast; I’m hoping Monkey feels the same about his at snacktime at school.

I’m really happy with this final version, so I will probably keep with that – though I reserve the right to go nuts with the chocolate.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by cindytwilliams on March 11, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    I need to try making some of those. We are all big granola fans around here. I bet they would be good with peanut butter inside too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

