Homemade Granola Bars (and a finished shirt)

I am trying to change our diet around the house, and to use less pre-packaged products. One of our big go-to’s, especially for the boys, is the granola bar. But frankly, the ones you buy in the store aren’t all that healthy (I’m looking at you, high fructose corn syrup…)! So I am trying to find the perfect granola bar to make for my boys (and me and BHE). I found this recipe at Joyful Abode and had to try it out, and the results are delicious! Here’s my end product:

Homemade Granola Bars

One of the wonderful things about homemade granola is you’re not tied to the manufacturer’s choice in the ingredients – I am no fan of raisins! I made one-half with dried blueberries (Monkey’s pick), and one-half with dried apples (Bear’s pick). The Bear gave a thumbs down to the apple half, I think due to the texture of the dried apples. I personally like the apples. The Monkey did not like the sunflower seeds (he likes sunflower seeds alone, just not in the bars for some reason) so I will leave them out next time. I also didn’t use peanuts (just didn’t have them) and it didn’t affect the results. The recipe is very forgiving.

Oh, and one more thing! I want to share a couple of pieces I finished up:

Embroidery with Sulky - Finished!

I finished my shirt! I’m really happy how it turned out. I worked my boot-ay off on Thursday night just so I could wear it to work (with a cardigan – it’s cold!) on Friday. Spring’s just around the corner (I keep telling myself) and it just made me super happy to wear it. I really liked working with the sulky, and it washed off quite easily. If you haven’t tried it out, do so!

Also:

Les Paul Bookmark

I made this for BHE about a month ago, and just forgot to photograph and blog it. He asked specifically for a Les Paul bookmark, so using two ads in his Guitar magazine, I traced the Les Paul and amp. I really opted for simplicity – just using white and gold, and the black fabric – and love how it turned out. My only disappointment is in the finishing – I am still learning my way around a sewing machine. But BHE is very happy, so I can’t complain!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angelle on March 2, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I will definitely be trying out the granola bars. Thanks for the idea…

    Reply

  2. Love the bookmark, and I might have to try those granola bars…thank you!

    Reply

  3. […] I’ve been working the granola bar recipe. Last weekend I tried adding chocolate chips (minus the nuts and fruit. I know.). Well, what […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

