A Snowflake for the Teacher

Snowflake for the Teacher

Is it still common to give Christmas gifts to teachers? I remember doing that during my childhood, but so much has changed since then. However, we decided to give Monkey’s teacher a Christmas gift. She’s a wonderful teacher – it’s her first year teaching, but he’s having so much fun in kindergarten and learning so much. I’m so thankful that he had a great teacher starting out – it’s so important to have a good start since he will be in the education system for quite a long time.

Anyway, I asked Monkey if he wanted me to stitch an ornament. He said yes, and agreed on a snowflake (so quick to stitch, very important since his last day of school before break is Friday!). He picked the colors, and wanted a star for the middle. I’m very happy with the results, so happy in fact that I probably have not stitched my last snowflake…

6 responses to this post.

  1. It’s a great design, and I like the way you’ve stitched it. Sure the teacher was chuffed…

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on December 16, 2009 at 1:07 pm

      Thanks for the compliment. I’ve been by your blog and you do some fantastic work, so I’m quite flatted.

      I had to look up exactly what “chuffed” means😉 so thanks for teaching me something new today!

      Reply

  2. Posted by bookwormbethie on December 19, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    I agree, this is a lovely ornament. What do you use to transfer your design to felt or did you just stitch “freehand”?

    Reply

  3. Posted by tnemily on December 20, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Bethie, I use tissue paper – traced my design onto that and stitched right through it, then carefully tore away once I was done! That’s my preferred method for design “transfer”.

    Reply

  4. Posted by bookwormbethie on December 22, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    i’ll have to try the tissue paper suggestion if i ever need to stitch on felt…..

    but for regular fabrics, have you ever tried a water soluable fabric pen? i love my blue fabric pen made by dritz. i make a make-shift light box by putting a lamp under a plastic storage tub (don’t leave unsupervised) and then taping my pattern to my fabric and tracing away with my marker.

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on January 10, 2010 at 11:48 am

      Bethie, sorry for the late reply. I have not tried the fabric pen but I might at some point. I’m pretty happy with my tissue paper method and I don’t have to worry about marks on the fabric – AND I tend to use a lot of patterned/color fabrics that might not work with this method. But I’m not opposed to trying the fabric pen and might do so someday.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

