Great Idea Thursday: Vintage Display

Well, I promised that Great Idea Thursday would have a vintage feel to it, and I’m delivering today.

I inherited a vintage table runner, capped at both ends with (I assume) a beautiful bird of paradise. I just love embroidered birds, and this has so much color to it too! However, vintage table runners would meet an unfortunate end in my house – the Monkey and the Bear would see to that. I didn’t really have any available table space for the piece.

So I decided I would enjoy it more on the wall. Hobby Lobby is a great resource for framing – they run 50% off framing just about every other week, and they have a LOT of selection. I could only display one end of my table runner, so I bought a shadowbox* to take care of the excess bulk. Some of the shadow boxes came with batting – mine did not, so I just ran over to the fabric dept. and purchased 1/3 yard of batting.

I tried attaching my piece to the back of the shadowbox using the pins, but it came out looking like I had framed a warped pillow. Then I just started tucking things in, and it came out much better. Here it is:

Vintage Bird of Paradise

How do you display your vintage (or other embroidered) pieces? Share your great ideas for vintage display in the comments!

*Shadowboxes were not on sale last week with the regular frames. They’re on sale through Saturday at Hobby Lobby. I got a $30 shadowbox for just $15…and no, Hobby Lobby is not paying me for promotion. I’m just a Hobby Lobby addict.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on November 20, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    this is so beautiful!!!! The colors are absolutely gorgeous! You are so lucky to have inherited this and bravo for thinking of a creative way to display it so monkey and the bear wouldn’t mess it up. Btw, who are the monkey and the bear? I’m new to your blog and haven’t poked all through your photostream on flickr. Are the monkey and the bear nicknames for your hubby and child? pet names? ?????

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on November 21, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      The Monkey and The Bear are my sons (ages 3 and 5) – they’re not in my photostream but mentioned in the “About” section of my blog.

      If I used the tablerunner as originally intended you can be sure it would be trashed! I enjoy it more on the wall anyway.

      Reply

  2. Posted by bookwormbethie on November 22, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    oh embarassed! i should have checked your ‘about section’! *blush*

    i can see how with a 3 and 5 year old, the tablerunner might not be safe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

