Vintage Monday: Cross Stitch Sampler, 1981

OK, I am not quite sure if 1981 counts as vintage, but at almost 30 years old, I think it’s close enough.

This was stitched by my mom in 1981, when I was just 3 years old:

Vintage Monday - Cross Stitch Sampler, 1981

Mom took up cross stitching back in the late 1970s, I think when I was a little fetus in her belly a baby (Mom, feel free to comment if I get any of the facts wrong, and I will correct them). She took a cross stitch class at a little store near our home in Alabama from a neighbor. – a store that we often visited in my childhood so my mom could get her supplies – her aida, her floss, her patterns, etc…

Without my mom, I don’t know that I would have gotten started in embroidery. It would in the least been much more difficult. She is an excellent resource, and has provided a bit of a foundation – she tried to teach me cross stitch when I was in my early 20s, but I wasn’t ready to devote time to it. And I prefer surface embroidery, while fitting in the occasional small cross stitch project. My mom, as you can see, prefers larger cross stitch projects – the above is actually one of her smaller ones.

I loved this one when I was a kid, so Mom gave it to me. This sampler hangs in my home today, in my kitchen, right next to the door. I see it every day. It’s both a comfort and an inspiration to see all those perfectly detailed stitches, and know the time and care she put into it.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindy on November 2, 2009 at 10:09 am

    My mom has that exact sampler hanging in her kitchen.

    Reply

  2. Posted by vintageaddict on November 2, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I think it is wonderful that you are pursuing embroidery. I look forward to checking in on your blog as you have some very interesting links and information that seem helpful. Judi

    Reply

  3. Posted by bookwormbethie on November 7, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    what a wonderful story. my mom used to do needlepoint (??) which i’m not sure what the means but i think she worked with yarn (??) she made this beautiful unicorn scene and a day-of-the-week with girls dressed up in different outfits. i loved that little girl piece, all the stitchy texture, and their hair was sorta 3d, it was/is very cool. i’ll have to take some pics next time i visit as even though my folks have taken over my old bedroom by storing all their stuff in my closet and drawers, most stuff is still hanging on the walls.

    i stumbled into embroidery all on my own, which eventually led me to pursue sewing. i do remember my mom knitting when i was a child but i had no interest then😦

    Reply

    • Posted by tnemily on November 7, 2009 at 8:26 pm

      I looked up needlepoint just the other day, bethie, and think it is with a yarn. I think a form of needlepoint uses plastic canvas. That’s awesome that your mom made you things like that – my mom cross-stitched a dollhouse once – she worked on it right in front of my eyes, and I had no clue it was for me. I was so thrilled when I got it. I think it was for my birthday. She also did some ballerinas in different colors that I really treasured.

      Reply

  4. Such a cute sampler…but does this mean that I’m vintage?! I’m from 1981!

    Reply

  5. Posted by AuntRach on April 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Oh my!! I remember this hanging on the wall! I recall being impressed with her work and now… I am just as stunned and blown away by yours!! You come from good people:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

