Sweet Treat: Glazed Apple Cookies

OK, so you know how the best part of the muffin is the muffin top? These taste just like it:

IMG_6987_Crop

I wanted to make some cookies for the Monkey’s soccer game tomorrow (his final, and we’re responsible for snacks). I wanted a healthier cookie, and always wanted to try apple cookies. I found the recipe here at Bread & Honey.

I only made a few changes: I substituted allspice for nutmeg (I am currently out of nutmeg), I left out the walnuts (didn’t have them) and left out the raisins (don’t like them). I used a medium-largish Granny Smith apple – though I think any apple would do – and grated it instead of dicing. This was a personal choice, as I have had experience with my boys rejecting a perfectly good apple muffin because my dice wasn’t small enough. That, and I’m lazy.

Anyway, I just HAD to test one – you know, to make sure they’re good enough for the kids to eat after the game – and they’re delicious!

Leave a Reply

