Great Idea Thursday – Record Frame

I was browsing through flickr at crafty goodness when I spied this:

Record Frame

Isn’t it awesome? If you’re anything like me, I’m always looking at new ways to display embroidery – I do a lot of in-the-hoop, which is lovely, but it gets stale. And I love music, and the record is just so classic to a music lover.

So I contacted Adam Moe (moesewco) via flickrmail, and he was kind enough to tell me about this project:

“There was some experimentation in cutting the window in the record. If I had a high-speed Dremel tool, things would have gone faster and been more clean. But I used what I had, which in this case turned out to be a small saw blade for an X-acto knife. With patience and hundreds of little sawing motions, I eventually cut out the hole. Then I sanded it with a gentle sandpaper just to smooth the edge a bit and clean it up.

The drilling and sewing together is pretty straight-forward. I needed a way to connect the front record to the back record, and I also needed a way to hang it on the wall, so I killed two birds with one stone.

This piece is interesting to me in that I don’t normally do this type of embroidery. You can see from other pictures of my work that I normally embroider with very dense stitching, and usually fill the entire canvas with stitches. This one, however, came out as more of a line drawing. Different style for me, but I was pleased with the result.”

Adam jokes that embroidery and art “keeps me from biting my nails”, but Adam is an all-around artist – a musician, actor, and writer – who took on embroidery as another means to communicate creatively.

Regarding his other works:

I have been working on a series of pieces based on HP Lovecraft’s writings, and those tend to get a much different response. My larger pieces, especially those that consist entirely of densely packed French knots, invoke something else altogether.

I think my favorite part of my embroidery work is seeing how people react to each piece.

You can find Adam via flickr and his website (also featuring his wife Emily, who makes hats!). He sells his hand embroidered patches, art, and ties (yes, ties! Check out Psycho Quiller…) at his Etsy shop, Moe Sew Co.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the great post. I really appreciate it, and I’m glad you liked the piece.

    Reply

  2. Posted by bookwormbethie on October 31, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    very cool, and how super duper nice and generous of adam to share his record framing secret with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

