Vintage Monday – Tulips

Hope you enjoy this new feature – Vintage Monday – in which I feature either vintage art or embroidery. It will go on as long as I can find things to feature, and will either display something from my collection, friend/family’s collection, or something I came across on the ‘net, in which case I will provide link to the loveliness. Hope you enjoy this feature.

This comes from my own collection; I love the bright colors:

Vintage Monday - Tulips

We’re not sure who was responsible for this piece of embroidered loveliness, but think it was my great-grandmother. Don’t I wish I knew who did it! Do you have handcrafted family heirlooms that bear no sign of authorship? What, if anything, do you do to ensure that your work lasts through generations?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bookwormbethie on October 26, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    very pretty, i bet the stitchy texture is very cool close up. as far as i know, i’m the lone embroider-er in my family. however my mom (and perhaps her sister too?) and grandma both knit, mostly baby blankets, but sometimes big blankets for the bed. they both can knit without even paying attention to what they are doing. i cannot, knitting is stressful for me, so i do not knit.

    Reply

  2. Posted by tnemily on October 26, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    The stitchy texture is indeed very cool, Bethie. There’s some excellent stem-stitching done by my ancestor.🙂

    My mom does counted cross stitch, and my paternal grandmother was a hand quilter. I didn’t really know about her quilting abilities until after she had passed – wish she could have shown me!

    My MIL knits/crochets, and I tried to teach myself but I’m too visual a learner – I I need to see someone do it. I tried using a book and youtube, but I can’t even get started! I told my MIL that she will just have to teach me sometime.

    Reply

  3. […] blog, vintage. Leave a Comment Since the new features on this ol’ blog here started with yesterday’s introduction of “Vintage Monday”, I thought today I would pass the blog love on and spotlight […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by bookwormbethie on October 27, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    i’m a visual learner too, but way long ago, i stumbled upon this site and actual found the free videos quite helpful for knitting
    http://www.knittinghelp.com/videos/learn-to-knit
    but alas, i never could figure out how to fixie my mistakes so knitting was so stresfful rather than relaxing….

    Reply

  5. That is beautiful! My maternal grandmother, who died in 2000, was a quilter. I have several of her quilts. She even made all of us grandkids baby quilts, even though I didn’t have babies yet…I saved them. I also have a pretty pink quilt she made me in junior high.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

