Fave Floss

Fave Floss

I just got a few of these nifty little floss cards from my mom. I’m definitely going to need to head to Hobby Lobby to acquire more.

I don’t know how often I will be popping projects on here – I’m in the midst of giftmaking for Christmas. But I thought it would be fun to have a look at my faves. I noticed that I have a lot of jewel tones in my fave floss at the moment. Wonder what they will be as the seasons change?

These are my faves (all DMC floss):

3852 – I don’t like metallic floss. Yes, the effect is nice, but it is a PAIN to deal with! But I love this satiny gold – it’s a nice rich color, and gives that gold feel. I’m using it right now on a gift WIP.

154 – Purple is one of my favorite colors. I just love this jewel tone. It’s so deep and just gorgeous.

744 – I love buttery yellows. In fact, I’m wearing this color right now.

580 – Green is my other favorite color, and this green tops it.

3808 – I don’t like teal particularly. But this darkened teal tows the line quite nicely between a dark green and a dark blue – it’s a lovely combination. I’m about out of it – need to get more! This is probably the Monkey’s favorite of all my floss.

321 – I don’t like the bright “666” red (who at DMC though “devil red” and coded it 666? How hilarious is that?). But take it a little deeper and it’s just gorgeous.

326 (Dark Rose) – OK, hot pink. I live in a house of men. I think the hot pink appeals to my girly side. So fun.

921 – I love orange (I’m a Tennessee alum). Although this is technically Texas orange – I’ve always loved that deeper orange. It’s a little more versatile.

311 – Just love the deep blue here.

Do you have favorite floss? Colors of floss that you return to – or want to return to – time and time again? Even for you sewers – are there tones of fabric you often revisit?

3 responses to this post.

  1. 321 is a must have of course! I love all the ‘gold’ colours (like dmc 676 and 420), silvery grey colours, winter white, olive greens, peacock and delft blues, some of the variegated flosses oh I could go on and on. Fabric wise I buy a lot of red and pink it seems.

    Reply

  2. Posted by bookwormbethie on October 22, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    oh no emily, i’m a georgia alum, i hope we can put our colors and football allegiances behind us πŸ˜‰

    i love this post, such a fun creative idea. am i a big dork that i think i know the # of one of my fave floss colors off the top of my head?! i’m pretty sure #320 is pistachio green and i love that one!

    Reply

  3. Posted by tnemily on October 22, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks for the comments, ya’ll.

    Bethie – Hey, I do love your mascot…who can hate on a bulldog in a sweater? πŸ˜‰ I’ll keep an eye out for 320 – I love a good green!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

