Stitchin’ with the Kids

So, I had been saving this project for a rainy day – and boy howdy, has it been rainy in Tennessee! So after school I decided to let my antsy boys try a hand at some stitchin’:

Stitchin' Away

This is a really easy project to do at home, and pretty inexpensive. You will need: burlap, which has nice holes for easier stitchin’ (ours was purchased at Hobby Lobby, and was available in many colors); plastic yarn needles (keepin’ it safe); and some yarn (I bought the kind that you will find around the plastic canvas, right around the cross stitch – it was around the needles so I felt it would hold up better for this. If you’re a knitter, you could probably use some scrap yarn).

I didn’t draw a pattern on this, though you easily could. My boys both had a great time, though my oldest – he’s 5 – took to it better. He quickly picked up on “catching the tail” and was a lot less apt to lose his thread. He made a house and apple tree without a pattern – pretty good for his first go!

Here are their results. I loved these so much, they’re going in wood hoops to be framed and hung in my kitchen.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Angelle on September 21, 2009 at 8:40 am

    I love this idea and may steal it. Leah would love it. Your big boy’s picture is amazing!

    Reply

  2. Posted by tnemily on September 21, 2009 at 9:45 am

    I think Leah would totally love it. It really kept both my boys occupied and happy. Let me know if you have any questions about it – it’s pretty easy. One thing I didn’t mention on materials was that you would need a hoop. Those are pretty cheap too.

    I also bought some plastic canvas stars and we’re going to make ornaments as we get closer to Christmas. They have needleart kits for kids that, if you find that Leah likes this, she might enjoy.

    Reply

  3. What a great idea. My girls used to buy the kits and work on them for hours. SO glad the rain let up today- just in time for my daughter’s school field trip!

    Reply

  4. They did a great job! I recently did this with my daughters (9 and 4) and they enjoyed it so much as well. I used ‘real’ needles though (the ones that are not very sharp) and ‘real’ embroidery thread. Luckily they chose the brighter colours which I rarely use myself!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

