Chicken Paprikash

I get Cookie magazine. It’s a free trial – don’t remember if I signed up for it or not – but I’m not a big fan of it. I’m going to go all Southern on you and be democratic and polite and say that I simply don’t fit into their demographic. We’ll leave it at that.

Typically I go through and mock 90% of the contents, but I paused this time in the cooking section. The article discussed grilling steak and veggies on Sunday and using those ingredients for your weekday meals. For your grilled veggies, Cookie offered Chicken Paprikash as an option. I didn’t take their route of grilling the veggies, but the recipe made for a good base. Here’s my version:

Chicken Paprikash
1.2 lb. boneless skinless chicken thighs
2 roasted red bell peppers, diced large
1/2 pkg. kale (about 1-2 bunches – can substitute spinach, which per BHE’s request I plan to do next time)
4 green onions, sliced (or 1 med/large yellow onion, quartered and sliced)
2 heaping tbsp. tomato paste
2 tbsp. paprika
2 bay leaves
1/2 c. water
salt & pepper, to taste
1 c. fat free sour cream
egg noodles (I used the wheat ones)

Brown chicken thighs for about 5 minutes, on both sides (I did this in olive oil and butter).
Add in veggies, tomato paste, paprika, bay leaves, water, salt and pepper. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for 20-30 minutes.
Meanwhile, boil your egg noodles.
Stir sour cream into chicken/veggie mixture. Serve over egg noodles.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

