WIP: Redwork Lady from Ancient China

I have had a old book on Chinese portraiture for several years. It dawned on me the other day that some of the portraits would make a great embroidery project. I looked for the ones that had good, clean lines. This is my first go:

WIP: Redwork Lady from Ancient China

There are definite weaknesses, and I might be going back to fix some things. First, the hands – the hands are terrible. So clumsy compared to how delicate they are in the portrait. Secondly, the eyes – I actually finally got the french knots right – or right enough – but the eyebrows make her look angry – not regal and delicate. All this must be fixed. I think that this is a good start.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Heather McCormick on July 7, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Emily-

    How beautiful!!! Good job,

    H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

