Roasted Chicken Goodness

I love roasted chicken. So good. Crispy, succulent skin that is so bad for you. The fact that it’s so much cheaper per pound, making it muy muy budget friendly.

I typically stuff my roasted chicken with lemon and butter, and season with salt, pepper, garlic,coriander, and more butter dabbed on the top (and lemon slices on top too). Cook in a 350F oven until it’s 180F (roughly 1.5-2 hours, depending on size of the chicken) and let rest for about 30 minutes. It’s very good; if I could find the original recipe on allrecipes.com I would direct you, but I can’t. If you are the owner of said recipe, let me know and I will link you.

Last night I wanted to do something a little different. I had sweet potatoes as a side (one big one, cubed and sauteed, and so so good) so I wanted to give my roasted chicken a little caribbean flair. I stuffed my approximately 4 lb. chicken with one sliced clove of garlic, a lime, and about two tbsp. margarine. I then mixed the following with about two tbsp. margarine (measurements approximate): 1 tbsp. salt, 1 tsp brown sugar, 2 garlic cloves (roughly minced), 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. black pepper, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. red pepper, and 1/4/ tsp. ground cinnamon. I rubbed this all into the chicken (I hate touching raw chicken but get over it since I know the results are worth it). Put into a 350F oven and cooked until internal temp is 180F (roughly 1.5-2 hours, depending on size of the chicken) and let rest for about 30 minutes.

The leftovers, even without skin, still hold a nice lingering taste of spice and lime. I should know – it was leftover chicken with fresh broccoli (straight from our little garden) today!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Traci on June 24, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    My all time favorite roast chicken recipe is from Allrecipes too…don’t remember what it’s called, but it has “rotisserie chicken” in the title. Only problem is the chicken has to roast for 5 hours (yikes!), but it’s totally worth it! Your recipes sounds good too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

