Embroidery for Dummies

Embroidery for Dummies

My mom always cross-stitched while I was growing up. It was a constant presence, and something I enjoyed watching her do as a child. You think I would I have learned these skills or similar, then, before the ripe old age of 31 but…no. But about two months ago, I was flipping through a magazine while awaiting the doctor for the Bear. And I found this article on updating your home on the cheap, and it mentioned embroidering your own pillow. And I thought: “I really want to do that.”

So I told my mom, who as previously stated is knowledgeable in things of a stitchery nature, and within a day she picked up “Embroidery for Dummies” at Joann (also available and Michaels and Hobby Lobby, as well as online). It was a pretty easy project, and good for learning satin stitches, backstitching, and french knots. You can see the results above.

I plan to blog about my embroidery projects here – I’ve just finished another piece, which you can see here. My next piece is an old shirt of mine, on which I traced a bird using a fabric pen…I will post the process here.

If you’re interested in embroidery, I’d recommend the “Embroidery for Dummies”. It’s a good start, and you end up with a cute little piece.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Cindy on May 18, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    That is awesome! I have to cheat and use a machine to embroider things. There is no way I’d have the patience to do it by hand. Although I did used to cross-stitch when I was younger — guess I’ve grown more impatient over the years 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

