It’s finally cold – Chili for Dinner!

Chili

Ya’ll, this was delicious. When the weather gets cold, nothing beats chili…and it’s finally cold here in Tennessee. I think everyone has their favorite way to do chili…and over the years, my favorite way has changed.

Normally I use your standard, store-bought chili mix, but this week I forgot to buy it. Then I realized I had all the essentials to make my own, and was very pleased with the results. I’m not going back to store-bought again.

I call it Fiesta Chili, because it’s so darn colorful and festive. Here’s how it goes:

Sautee about one pound of ground turkey in the bottom of the pot; salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes on top of that. Once the turkey’s mostly cooked, I threw in an onion (halved and sliced) and – despite my brother’s feelings on the matter – one diced green bell pepper. Cooked until the onion and bell pepper start to get soft. Then I threw in (all 14.5 oz. cans) – one can stewed Mexican-style tomatoes, one can mild chili beans (you could go with regular pintos, and I might next time), one can tri-bean blend*, and one can yellow corn. Then for the seasoning – about three tablespoons chili powder, one tablespoon cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. It was really good. And of course, top with cheese, sour cream, avocado…whatever you normally go with for your chili toppings.

*Love the tri-bean blend (this was Private Selection Organic) for chili – it’s black beans, kidney beans, and pintos all in one can. Great for situations where you want black beans and kidney beans, but don’t want a whole can of them.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Corn in Chile ... on January 29, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Now – that chile looks really really tasty! Hadn’t used corn before but will, next chile night. Good picture! Came over from Flickr, Nashville photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

