Simply Delicious

I love eating at Sitar in Nashville (near Vandy). It’s ridiculously tasty. Unfortunately, we don’t get there too often, as we live in a small town outside of Nashville and making it “into town” isn’t going to happen all the time. Plus, with the boys, it’s just best to limit meals out, both for budget and my sanity.

So while I am no voucher for the authentice, I am so pleased that I found this:

Lentils & Spinach

This is delicious. Though it’s no 15-minute meal, it’s a very simple, cheap, nutritious and easy meal (the only time involved is simmering the lentils – 35 minutes). I was a little worried that it would be underseasoned but it so was not (especially since I added red pepper flakes – never a bad choice). I also used low-sodium chicken broth (recipe calls for water) and sauteed bell pepper with the onion – mainly because I just needed to use it up.

I served it over brown rice. An aside regarding rice – I normally use the “5 minutes and BAM! It’s done” version of rice. BHE recently bought Mahatma brown rice that is the slow-cookin’ kind – 45 minutes. It is WONDERFUL. I don’t have the most sensitive palate in the world and normally cannot tell that kind of difference but it’s there, believe me. We use brown rice anytime that we need rice and I will be swapping to the slow cook version – it’s well worth the time.

I hope you try the lentils and spinach out – SO, SO GOOD. Let me know if you try it, and how you liked it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. That looks DEELISH. I’ll try it soon!

    Reply

  2. […] – Chickpea and Potato Curry (also good with cauliflower in place of the potato, FYI) and lentils and spinach. Beans can also help you get creative with soups, like I did […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

