Would you like some pasta with your veggies?

So, I am officially in like with allrecipes.com. BHE has a liking for fettuccine alfredo, but since it’s fat-laden goodness is not exactly in tune with a healthy lifestyle, I tend not to make it. Enter Smarter Fettuccine Alfredo:

Green is Good.

This is a good base recipe for a light fettuccine alfredo, but I made several adjustments. I used wheat fettuccine – we always use whole wheat pasta; it’s good for you and we actually like the taste. During the last 3 minutes of pasta boiling, I threw in broccoli (a whole bunch). As I was cooking the pasta, I sauteed baby bella mushrooms and a small onion (sliced, of course) – olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder on that. Next time I will add some red pepper flakes because that just makes everything better, doesn’t it? If you don’t like heat, don’t put those babies in. Finally, I put some chicken tenderloins on the Foreman – salt, pepper, garlic powder again – and cut that up once they were cooked (note – I probably could have sauteed the chicken too, but I hate cutting up raw chicken, and the Foreman and I are good friends. We have history.)

I think this initial effort came out a little bland. Part of the guilt here falls on the amount of sauce – I added all these ingredients, but did not make extra sauce. Next time, I will make more sauce, and use those red pepper flakes.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fairyfloss on November 5, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    http://www.allrecipes.com is one of THE BEST culinary sites around. I LOVE IT SO MUCH!
    I love the fact that so many recipes are rated by people who’ve tried the recipes.
    I’ve found some real kitchen classics that I have been trying to hunt down for years. The recipes really work in a home kitchen and directions are straight to the point and easy to follow for a homechef. The comments/ reviews are concise and the whole site format is so user friendly.

    Reply

  2. I use allrecipes.com a lot. You should also check out cookinglight.com.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Traci on November 6, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Yeah, we’ve tried one of the healthier alfredo recipes from Allrecipes.com too…the sauce was pretty good, just not as rich as “real” alfredo sauce.

    Reply

  4. Sounds terrific…never thought I’d hear the phrase “healthy alfredo”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

