Wordkill

There’s a word that I think has been overused in our language, coming up in all manner of contexts to the point of ridiculousness:

Although the new technologies are fascinating and sexy, the big principle that is stressed throughout the book is to concentrate on the particular relationship with the consumer and reader and worry about the specific technology in the context of this relationship.

I put it there in bold AND highlighted it for you. Yes, that’s the word sexy, and it’s being used to talk about circulation marketing and social technology/media. Listen, I work in circulation, and there’s nothing remotely “sexy” about it. I like my job, but come on.

I think my distaste for the word “sexy” combined with anything marketing came along when The Apprentice was first on. All of the sudden, everything was sexy. Dish detergent? Sexy! Motor oil? Sexy! Home Depot? Sexy! Accounting services? OK, I’m pretty sure that wasn’t on there, but if it was – sexy!

It’s ridiculous. I mean, let’s look at the word defined:

sex·y –adjective, sex·i·er, sex·i·est.

1. concerned predominantly or excessively with sex; risqué: a sexy novel.
2. sexually interesting or exciting; radiating sexuality: the sexiest professor on campus.
3. excitingly appealing; glamorous: a sexy new car.

I’ll concede that the 3rd definition leaves a lot of leeway, but I have to wonder if that 3rd point in the definition was an add-on due to recent societal use. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

