Go Speed Racer, Go…Eat Cake

Well, about two weeks ago, Monkey changed his mind – we would not be having a Monster Truck party, as stated before, but instead Speed Racer would rule. So in addition to Speed Racer plates and banner, we also had to have the Speed Racer cake:

Speed Racer Cake II

The border’s a bit off, I know. The icing got a little melty last night, and while I was working last night it slid a little. That, and I am in no way a professional decorator.

This was my first time making icing from scratch. I’ve always been a little intimidated by that for whatever reason and now I don’t know why! It was MUCH easier to work with that your readymade decorator icings sold at the grocery store. My mother-in-law got me a cake-decorating kit for my birthday a couple of months back, and it was so easy (and the Wilton cake colors are great). I had a lot of fun doing this. The icing was really delicious. Not too sweet, and exactly what I wanted to do. Unfortunately, I don’t recall where I found this recipe on the ‘net, but I’m posting it for you all:

1 cup milk (I used whole milk)
1 cup butter
1 tsp. vanilla
5 tbsp. flour
1/2 cup sugar
(just regular, white, granulated sugar)Cook milk and flour into a thick paste (this will take a while) and let cool. Cream together butter, sugar and vanilla. Beat until fluffy. Add the cooled paste and beat at high speed until like whipped cream.

 

This icing will be quite soft at first and easy to work with, but I had problems with my border just as I was about to put this in the fridge, so it probably wouldn’t hurt to pop this in the fridge for a few minutes before decorating your cooled cake.

Oh, and the road for my Speed Racer cake – make from Oreos (the chocolate filled kind). Just made a border with my icing, crushed ’em up, and carefully sprinkled them on the cake. It went over really well, because not only do Oreos LOOK great as a road – they TASTE great too.

One response to this post.

  1. The cake looks great! Glad you had a fun time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

