Hindsight’s 20/20

I jokingly promised my friend Texas in Africa here that I would admit to this; then I read this and had to do it (and boy, this might get me in trouble with “the internets” as TIA likes to say):

I voted for Nader in 2000. And guess what else? I did it again in 2004. Yeah, I said it.

Did I personally cost Al Gore the election? Not here in Tennessee – Gore lost his home state all on his own (I can’t find the statistics, but my brother and I argued about my vote back in 2000 and believe me, Nader didn’t cut into Gore enough to make the difference here – Bush had it).

Now, I knew Nader didn’t have a chance of winning the election. So why did I vote that way?

  1. I wasn’t sold on Gore. I’ve read – and been told – several times that, if Gore had been president, we wouldn’t be in the mess we’re in now. I think many are convinced we’d be living a utopian lifestyle had he won. Maybe. But who’s to say how Gore would have reacted after 9/11 (if the tragic events of that morning had occured)? And – I state this as a college graduate with an International Business minor – we were due an economic downturn. In fact, I remember saying small prayers to get me graduated and out of school and gainfully employed before we went into a recession, I was so sure it was on the horizon. 9/11 made it worse, or at least hastened it…this latest round has a large part in real estate and lending. Would it have been better or worse under Gore? I don’t have the answer to that question. I will say this – I like Gore now that he can totally focus on climate change and environmental issues. We need someone doing what he’s doing now, and he’s arguably one of the best people for the job.
  2. I don’t like the two-party system. This was a large reason behind my vote for Nader – the promise of a viable third party. George Washington warned against a party system, and now we’ve got two powerful political parties that have arguably sold their souls to corporate interests, and care more about those interests (and staying in power) than serving the American people.

Now, I will admit – I voted for Obama in the primary election. I don’t think he’s the Messiah – he’s just a man, but he does represent a promise for change that I do like. Will I choose him at the big fiesta this November? I’ve got some decisions to make between now and then so that, my friends, remains to be seen.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Eric Hundin

    Reply

  2. Power to the people! I’m glad you stood up for what you believed in. And you really didn’t have to confess this to the whole world! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I still have no idea who I will vote for. I didn’t vote in the primary because I haven’t moved my voter registration to TN yet.

    Reply

  4. Thanks for linking to the Political Inquirer.
    http://www.politicalinquirer.com

    Reply

  5. […] chose to break my two-presidential-election streak of third party voting (Nader, who has clearly gone cuckoo) to vote for you based on a lot more than Monkey – though I hope he […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

