Feeling good about myself…

I haven’t been in the best shape for a few years now. Between pregnancies, I was approaching something resembling “old me” (running around after a toddler has a way of helping you shed some pounds), but getting pregnant again (my belly got HUGE) and breaking my leg during said pregnancy packed it all back on again and then some.

OK, the lack of working out doesn’t help either (I actually eat pretty decently though – we don’t keep a lot of junk around our house).

So, as my youngest fastly approaches the year-and-a-half mark, I finally coordinated with B.H.E. and got a workout schedule down. And I’ve stuck with it.

I have worked out (5 days a week) for two weeks now. I feel so much better. I don’t know if I have shed any weight, but I already feel like I have more energy and a better feeling about myself. I guess it’s the promise of change. I don’t expect to get my sophomore-in-college body back*,  but at my weight, and particularly with the weight I am carrying around the middle, I am worried about long-term health.

Might I add that I love doing pilates (I do an elliptical machine 3 days, pilates in between)? I always loved yoga but need something more for toning. I feel so good and stretched out after doing pilates – and I think my posture is improving. Check out the videos section of Comcast if you’re interested in pilates videos – it’s free! If you have On Demand, Exercise TV is a great resource too.

*my thinnest – I didn’t gain the fabled freshman 15; I waited until junior year in Mexico feasting daily on avocado to do that. However, I have been told I was too thin at that time – and anyway, after two pregnancies my skin in the belly region just is not going to bounce back to that form.

One response to this post.

  1. Good for you! I always feel a million times better when I can keep to a regular exercise schedule.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

