Product Review: Seventh Generation Dish Liquid

I don’t know if it’s obvious from my limited posts, but one of my chief concerns in the global/political area is the environment. Whether or not you buy global warming – I do – I still think it’s our responsibility to try to make things better. God gave us a really beautiful world, ya’ll, and we’re messing it up.

So I am a pretty normal woman – husband, two sons, family dog, two cars, etc… but I am trying to live in a greener way.

So I needed dish soap yesterday, and went to the local Walgreen’s to pick it up. I’ve noticed Seventh Generation diapers before, but only online, so we’ve never had the chance to try them. However, I did notice the dish soap, and I overcame my thrifty nature and paid the extra dollar to get it.

I was a little unsure about the lavender and mint fragrance to it – I am so trained to lemon or orange dish scents – but once I got it home, I really liked it, especially since I use dish soap on my hands any time I need to wash up in the kitchen – which is often. And it seems to clean the dishes really well too.

Here’s the ingredient info, straight from their website:

A unique combination of naturally derived cleaning agents (corn and/or coconut-based surfactants), Natural whole plant essences, Preservative (less than 0.05%), Water.

They also have this fun fact:

If every household in the U.S. replaced just one 25 oz. bottle of petroleum based dishwashing liquid with our vegetable based product, we could save 86,000 barrels of oil, enough to heat and cool 4,900 U.S. homes for a year!

I had no clue that regular dishwashing liquid was petroleum based…anyway, I’d recommend this. Maybe you’ll feel a little better about washing your dishes – and your hands will smell good too!

Leave a Reply

