DIY Recipe Book

I promised a crafty tutorial and I’m delivering today. I wanted to make my brother a recipe book for his birthday, filled with old family recipes (thanks, Mom!) and some new ones (many of which you’ve seen on this blog. All recipes that have been taste-tested for yummyness.

I scoured the internets for a way to do this recipe book, and there wasn’t much. I found Tastebook, and while those look really good, they are pricey and I wanted more of a DIY approach. I didn’t want a recipe box – I don’t like them as they get messy real quick. I thought about hitting Staples for a binder but hit Hobby Lobby’s scrapbooking section first. So glad I did. I’m not a scrapbooker but was able to adapt those supplies to come up with this recipe book. And here’s how.

First things first, I decided how big my pages would be (based on the cover I bought). I did the typing. formatting, and photo insertion in PowerPoint. You could probably do this in Word too. In PowerPoint, a finished page looked like this:

RecipeBookSamplePage

I then carefully cut out the pages, and was careful about where to hole-punch. Precision is key.

I also made some header pages. Scrapbook stickers add a lot of fun, though there’s a treasure trove of clipart images available too.

The cover was purchased from Hobby Lobby too. It was too thick for the hole-puncher, so BHE drilled and sanded where I marked. I then used binder rings to bind it all together.

DIY Recipe Book

I really like the look. It was a lot of work, but made for a nice, personal, DIY gift.

14 responses to this post.

  1. this is such a great idea! i am definitely not a scrapbooky gal but i might venture to do something like this :)

    Reply

  2. Posted by giddy on July 8, 2010 at 12:17 am

    What an awesome gift! I love the way it looks. : )

    Reply

  3. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  4. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  5. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  6. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kelsey on July 13, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Just curious, where did you get binder rings that big?

    Reply

  8. [...] options include upcycling a standing or pocket photo album, or using a binder to make a recipe book – which can be easily made spill-proof. Bonus. Recipe books are pretty much just filling a [...]

    Reply

  9. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  10. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  11. [...] Recipe Book image TNEmily Want to make your own cookbook? My tutorial is here: awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07 / diy-recipe-book / [...]

    Reply

  12. [...] awesomeave.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/diy-recipe-book/ [...]

    Reply

  13. […] Recipe Book. Pull together your favorite recipes or family favorites to make a recipe book. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

