Updating the Egg Salad Sandwich

The other day I got a serious cravin’ for egg salad. But I don’t keep mayo on hand – we’re not big fans of it – and I wanted to make my lunch a little more upscale than standard egg salad. So with some inspiration from 101 cookbooks (their take on egg salad here) I came up with this:

Freakin’ Awesome Egg Salad (makes one-two servings)

2 boiled eggs
1 tsp (ish) fat free sour cream
5-6 kalamata olives
salt and pepper
feta cheese (remember, a little goes a long way)
baby spinach

First, boil your eggs. My method (learned from my mom) – put your eggs in a pot and fill with water. Bring to boil. Once you’ve got a good rolling boil, cut the heat, cover and leave it alone (on the same burner – don’t move it!) for 20 minutes. Voila! You have boiled eggs.

While you’re waiting on your eggs, you might as well take care of those olives. Put them in your bowl and just cut them up with a fork. Mine was pretty chunky.

Get the shells off your eggs and throw them in with your olives. Chop them up with your fork. Throw in a little feta. Now add your sour cream – just enough to bind everything together – and get to mashing! I mash with my fork but do what you do. Salt and pepper during this but remember, those olives have some salt, so go easy on the salt.

Now, toast yourself some wheat bread, put a little mustard on that, and then a layer of baby spinach. Spoon your freakin’ egg salad sandwich on top of the spinach then close up that sandwich.

I’m serious, it’s heavenly. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. How do you like your egg salad?

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

